Gamelan instrument, jublag
Sunday, April 6, 2014 - 3:00pm
A John Cage Musicircus, University of Richmond
Wednesday, March 19, 2014 - 8:30pm

Following the Eighth Blackbird Concert will be a John Cage Musicircus staged throughout Booker Hall of Music. A small ensemble from Gamelan Raga Kusuma will perform Gender Wayang and/or experimental pieces.

Friday, March 14, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, March 12, 2014 - 8:00pm

Live music to accompany two projections: a Balinese wayang (shadow puppet) performance by Gusti Sudarta and Tony Conrad's Flicker.

Download poster [pdf]

Sunday, December 1, 2013 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm

Raga Kusuma has a limited number of open spots for new members. Interested in joining? Anyone can do it! (see picture). Participation is free. At this session we will discuss our upcoming plans, including a tour to Bali.

Share the Facebook event!

Art 180's Art Karma
Thursday, December 5, 2013 -
7:00pm to 10:00pm

10th Annual Silent Auction and Good Karma Party to Benefit ART 180.

Performances by our gender wayang ensemble and gamelan adaptations of avant-garde/experimental Western music.

More information: http://www.art180.org.

Andung Novi Djangkuak
Sunday, November 24, 2013 - 3:00pm

Family-friendly concert of Balinese, Ghanaian, Thai, Senegalese, Japanese and Indian music and dance. Free!

Traditional Balinese Wayang Kulit (Shadow Play)
Wednesday, November 6, 2013 - 7:30pm

Balinese master artist Gusti Sudarta from the Indonesian Conservatory of the Arts will be performing a traditional Balinese Wayang Kulit, or Shadow Play. This kid-friendly event is free and open to the public.

Saturday, November 9, 2013 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm

Gusti Sudarta, faculty, Indonesian National Conservatory, will lead this free workshop.

RSVP: ragakusuma@gmail.com

Thursday, October 31, 2013 - 6:00pm to Sunday, November 3, 2013 - 8:30pm

Gamelan musicians, dancers, and scholars from around the world will convene at the Smithsonian's Freer and Sackler galleries to celebrate, discuss, and perform Indonesian music, dance and theater.

Gamelan Raga Kusuma will perform during 2 afternoon slots on Saturday November 2.

View final program [PDF, 3.4MB]

Pages

Subscribe to Front page feed